SMLRS Overview for Amateur Radio Operators

SMLRS is a permanently linked repeater network operated by the Nixa Amateur Radio Club (NARC), the Southwest Amateur Radio Group (SWARG), the Missouri Highway Patrol Amateur Radio Club (KM0HP), the Greene County EMA, the Vernon County EMA and Rayfield Communications  to serve emergency communications needs of Southwest Missouri and adjacent states.


It has 13 repeaters:

  • a 2-meter repeater centered in Granby (Southeast of Joplin),
  • a 2-meter repeater centered near Nevada,
  • two 2-meter repeaters centered in Springfield,
  • a 2-meter repeater centered in Branson
  • a UHF repeater at Crane linking the 2-meter repeaters,
  • a UHF repeater near Stockton Lake linking Nevada, Bolivar and Warsaw into the system
  • a 2-meter repeater just north of Bolivar, MO
  • a 2-meter repeater centered in Branson
  • a 2-meter repeater centered in Warsaw
  • a UHF repeater in Bendavis linking the 2-meter repeaters at Willow Springs and Rolla and linking all 4 repeaters to the West half of the system
  • a 2-meter repeater in Willow Springs
  • a 2-meter repeater in Rolla
  • a 2-meter repeater on Taum Sauk Mountain near Arcadia

Together, these repeaters cover all of the Region D ARES territory in Southwest Missouri and most of the Region G and Region I ARES territory along with the Springfield National Weather Service severe weather warning area.

Because the repeaters are permanently linked, a transmission on any of the twelve repeaters is re-broadcast on all twelve repeaters.  In practical terms, transmissions within the network area will be heard from Coffeyville, KS to Van Buren, MO, and from Clinton, MO to Harrison, AR.

While the vital purpose of SMLRS is emergency service for weather monitors and responders, the network can also be used to support wide-area events, such as MS-150.  It is also available to all amateur radio operators for normal QSO use as well as weekly nets to help system administrators monitor system performance to identify possibly site performance problems.

This is a BLOCK diagram of the SMLRS components, along with the frequencies/PL-tones for each component repeater.

This is a map of the combined coverage areas of the repeaters in the Western half of the linked system:

%d bloggers like this: